Tuesday, December 24, 2013

iOS 7 Privacy Tips

iOS 7 Privacy Tips

iOS 7 Privacy Tips for iPhone, iPad, and iPod touch

The latest incarnation of the Apple’s famous platform comes packed with new, interesting features that allow you to finely tune the performance of your device according to your needs. Among the many improvements that the new version has brought, a lot of work has been done in the privacy department.

However, the manufacturer decided to enable some features by default, which may not be the best possible solution for some users. If you want to learn how to easily disable some of these features, or simply how to adjust your privacy settings so that only the information that you want to get out actually manages to do so, read on.

Preview a Link URL

Before this upgrade, seeing a link to a page you are about to visit was a somewhat complicated affair. This lead to people following links that they would avoid if they were able to view them in their entirety, which could lead to compromising situations. With this addition, you can hold your finger on a link in order to have it opened in a new window, where apart from seeing the entire link, you also have an option of following it, opening it in a new page, adding it to your reading list or simply copying it.

Do Not Track Feature and Blocking Cookies

Do Not Track Feature and Blocking Cookies

As for the first mentioned feature, while you are given the opportunity to enable the Do Not Track option, the compliance of trackers with your wishes is not really guaranteed. On the other hand, blocking cookies works just as you might expect, allowing you to, for instance, block cookies coming from advertisers. To block the cookies you’ll have to go to Safari settin
gs and choose the parties whose cookies you want to block (you can also clear cookies and data in this menu), while enabling Do Not Track feature is done in Settings / Safari.

Caller Blocking

New iOS 7 also allows you to block certain callers in Phone, Messages or FaceTime apps (naturally, this only goes for messages and FaceTime if you’re not using an iPhone but an iPad or iPod Touch). When you open Recents or Favorites in your FaceTime, Messages or Phone apps, you should use the info button on the contact that you wish to stop receiving calls from, scroll all the way down and activate the Block this Caller option. Naturally, you can also do this directly from your contacts list. You can easily review the entire list of blocked people in Settings, under the appropriate app (FaceTime, Messages or Phone) by pressing Blocked. This interface also gives you an option of adding a new blocked contact or unblocking one.

Frequent Locations

Tracking your Frequent Locations is one of the features that are enabled by default, so if you are not comfortable with your every move being recorded, and you want to prolong the life of your battery, you can disable locations tracking in Settings / General / Restrictions / Enable Restrictions. You’ll need to enter your password two times, after which you can add restrictions to a number of different features and apps. Another thing that you might want to do is go to Location Services and specify which services you want to use and which should be deactivated.

 

Copyright © 2010-2014 iAppsclub.com is an independent publication that has not been authorized, sponsored, or approved by Apple Inc. All Rights Reserved.